Events > Clean Energy Transition - South India Energy Conclave

Clean Energy Transition - South India Energy Conclave

Tuesday, 23 February 2021, 1000 hrs to 1115 hrs (GMT) / 1530hrs to 1645hrs (IST)

row-start col-md-7 #top-section top-section new-section

About the Clean Energy Transition Event

Join us for the ‘Clean Energy Transition’ event under South India Energy Conclave to discuss energy transition – a core COP26 theme. The main emphasis is on accelerating the global transition from coal to clean energy. We hope to better understand South Indian state commitments and challenges in scaling up renewable energy as well as identify potential for financial and technical assistance to support transition away from coal. We believe our event is an important platform to do this. 

We will focus on:

  • Exploring the future of coal in India’s power mix
  • Celebrating the rollout of renewable power across the Southern Indian states and share best practice
  • Identifying barriers to further expansion, and exploring how the UK and India can work together to overcome these



  • Lord (Tariq) Ahmad, Minister of State for South Asia and the Commonwealth 
  • Jan Thompson CMG OBE, British Deputy High Commissioner to the Republic of India 
  • Kapil Mohan IAS, Additional Chief Secretary (Energy), Government of Karnataka 
  • Pankaj Kumar Bansal IAS, Chairman & Managing Director, TANGEDCO, Govt. of Tamil Nadu
  • Sandeep Kumar Sultania IAS, Principal Secretary Energy, Government of Telangana 
  • Devesh Singh IAS, Secretary to Government, Power and Information Technology, Govt. of Puducherry  (TBC) 
  • Srikanth Nagulapalli IAS, Principal Secretary – Energy, Government of Andhra Pradesh (TBC) 
  • Saurabh Jain IAS, Secretary – Department of Power, Government of Kerala (TBC) 
  • Jeremy Pilmore-Bedford, British Deputy High Commissioner, Bangalore 
  • Hitendra Dave, Managing Director and Head of Global Banking & Markets , HSBC
  • Natalie Toms, Economic Counsellor, British High Commission New Delhi


Event Details

Date : Tuesday, 23 February 2021

Time: 1000 hrs to 1115 hrs (GMT) / 1530hrs to 1645hrs (IST)




Click to register